Category Archives: literary prize

Who is like God

akwaeke emeziThe overall winner of the 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize has been announced. There were several regional winners. The one from Africa is Akwaeke Emezi, she wrote the story title ‘Who is like God’.

Here you will find her story. Enjoy.  

The 2017 Commonwealth short story

akwaeke emeziLast month the people came together, all invited. Writers and diplomats, just to name a few. The selection of the continental representative had been made already. From Africa the Nigerian writer Akwaeke Emezi was nominated with her book Who is like God. She did not become the overall winner, but she did us proud.

Look here for more information. 

Nthikeng Mohlele and Mohale Mashigo win

The announcement has been named. The participants were looking forward to it. Names have been given to show who won the 2016 University of Johannesburg Prizes for South African Writing in English

The author Nthikeng Mohlele has won the main prize for the novel titled Pleasure. There was another prize for the best debut. This prize has been awarded to Mohale Mashigo for the novel The Yearning.

Angolan writer José Eduardo Agualusa

Librarians have decided to give a literary prize to a writer who now wants to us the money to build a library at one of the places he lives. The Angolan writer José Eduardo Agualusa has been awarded the International Dublin Literary Award. The money that travels with the Award is €100,000. This is a fair sum of money, even in Dublin. 

José has made known what he will do with this money. It will help build a library to help people to read and have access to books. He also plans to put his private library in this building. The place will at one of his abodes, this being at the Island of Mozambique.  Read more about it here

José Eduardo Agualusa.

Folio prize goes to

The Libya-born writer Hisham Matar is hitting the literary headlines. He was a Pulitzer Prize winner and now he has won the Folio Prize for his book The Return. In this book he returns to his birthland Libya in search of his missing father. Read about it here

Hisham Matar.

Antjie Krog bekroon met Hertzogprys

The South African writer and poet Antjie Krog has received an important prize in South Africa. The Council of the South African Academy for Science and Arts has decided to give Antjie Krog the Hertzogprize for her work. The prize is for those who contributed in an important way in the fields of science, technology and the arts, and connected to that the field of the Afrikaner language. Hertzog was general J.B.M. Hertzog, he supported the use and the importance of the Afrikaner and Dutch languages.  

Read more about it here




2017 Commonwealth short story prize shortlist

The names and the titles have been made known. It is a long shortlist of names and places. Among the names are three writers from former British colonies in Africa. Two from Nigeria and one from South Africa, the usual suspects. 

Read the long shortlist here.

Commonwealth Writers